An Introduction To DUI/DWI Laws in Illinois

Illinois has stringent intoxicated driving laws, and the state makes very little allowance for a one-time mistake or a moment of bad judgment. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, the state takes a "zero tolerance" approach, and a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of anything over 0.00 is considered a criminal offense.

Frank A TedessoIf you are pulled over in Chicago or the surrounding metro area on suspicion of DUI/DWI, you will need a skilled criminal defense attorney who possesses a deep knowledge of defenses for this type of charge. At The Law Office of Frank A. Tedesso, our founding attorney has defended many DUI clients and can advise you on the best ways to address your drunk driving charge.

Facts About DUI/DWI Laws

Here are a few key facts to keep in mind about DUI/DWI charges in Illinois:

  • The BAC limit for adults 21 and over is 0.08 percent, with enhanced penalties applied if your BAC is 0.16 percent or greater.
  • Illinois is an "implied consent" state, which means you can have your license suspended for refusing a breath test to determine your BAC at a traffic stop.
  • A first-time conviction in the state on DUI/DWI can result in a sentence of up to a year in jail and/or a fine of $2,500.
  • If convicted on DUI charges, you will have your driver's license revoked and be required to attend mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment programs.

Before You Do Anything Else — Talk To A Lawyer!

Intoxicated driving charges are an area where you do not want to try to "go it alone" without legal counsel. This includes answering questions without a lawyer and submitting to field sobriety tests or portable BAC breath tests administered by a police officer. Our lawyer can be present during any questioning and can assist you with a Petition to Rescind if you are facing a Statutory Summary Suspension of your driver's license.

Do not provide law enforcement with evidence against you. Our firm will fight for your due process rights.

Build Your Post-DUI Roadmap With Our Help

We can help you navigate through your intoxicated driving charge and get on the road to recovery. Call us at 312-767-4678 today or use our online intake form.